My Favorite Nepalese Foods!! Part 4.

5)Aloo Tamako Tarkari

One of my Favourite! Yes! But, honestly neither I nor my mom, have ever cooked this dish on our own. (You got me. Mom isn’t very big with cookery. And me…I’m a recipe for disaster when i turn on the stove. Might as well say, i’m a ticking bomb on the kitchen 😉 )But again, they say ‘Mustache doesn’t stop an eating mouth’!! Not mine at least.

So, what is Aloo-tama?

Ever eaten any dishes prepared out of bamboo shoot?

bamboo_shoots_16x9

bbc.co.uk

Yes, it’s a delicious, soury, a little spicy cuisine made with ‘Bamboo shoot’ as primary ingredient. The recipe, also includes potatoes, black eyed beans, tomatoes, some hot spices with 1/2 chillies and corriander, as a plus/minus, according to how you like it.  Here is how it looks like, when its done.

youtube

youtube

It’s great to eat with roti (flat bread) or selroti (a round dough like bread). The taste will be even more relishing.. if you are a big fan of mouth watering acidic tang on your cravings..like me!!

6) Sukuti ko Achar.

In Nepali, the word ‘Sukuti’ means ‘very skinny’. ‘Sukuti’ for girls and ‘Sukutey’ for boys. I’m thinking perhaps that’s how it got it’s name..perhaps? Just a wild guess though. (So Smart!! Amn’t i? ;))   .Anyways, basically for preparing sukuti, meat is chopped into pieces, thin long segments and dried for days out in the heat of the sun (traditionally) or on a fire. Naturally, this will end up giving a ‘dry meat’ product that is denatured, shrunken and rough textured. 

jomson co uk

jomsom.co.uk

Guessed it right. That is sukuti!

However, hold your thoughts right there! Surviving these harsh conditions might make it look less appetizing but trust me, put in a recipe together as a achar (side dish in a pickle form with tomatoes) or a soup, it tastes Yum Yum. Some people prefer consuming it directly also (like my mom), from those available in packed forms for commercial purposes. Thes are spiced enough and crispy to grind…Don’t worry, they are put in oven. So, are safe to consume. (Just in case if you are wondering, it’s uncooked..)

My mom is super fan of Sukuti. Especially Sukutiko achar. It makes a great starter and a duo with Alcohol. (Well that’s what she says). Be it tongba/ chhyang/ rakshi (home made liquor) or whisky/ brandy/ wine (whatever that comes in bottle, may be fizzi drinks too).

didibahini

didibahini.com

Tough and chewy, that’s how the local ones are, and that’s how she thinks sukutis should be like. (Sometimes, i can’t help but think, if my mom was a jaguar or a croc in her previous life..Have you seen on the documentaries, the amount of force these killers exert on their jaws? They can crush human skulls and can devour everything down to pieces . Nasty things, i tell you. Of course.. i’m not implying my mom is a predator here..Never..  😉 ).

As for me, and of course Dad, we like our sukuti soft, just enough cooked in a way that it doesn’t lose it’s texture but still manages to release that peculiar taste. And yeah, if you have brittle teeth sets too,  better go for softer ones. You don’t want to chew and chew and chew like 10 times and fall asleep right there, without ever enjoying it. Do you?

(P.S- You can use any meat to prepare sukuti. Red meat. I don’t know if anyone ever has prepared sukuti of chicken. Wonder how would it taste? But, in Nepal, never ask for Beef meat! Never! It’s a National Animal of the country. And prayed as a sacred animal..in case you did not kno)  

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Nepalese Foods!! Part 4.

    1. Hmm definately red chillies wil b hotter!! My sens humor is alys there trust me..only a matter of time hehe. I wil busy a few days joker, gettin clases..i wil text in betwn..incase u miss me. Like i said m preety missable 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank You’. i wil do my best. I gotta do it. No option. Aw..i missd joker and castle too. BUt foreign affairs are equally important. It is always wise to tend to matters before settling on chair 🙂
        keep writing. Will come back to read now and then.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

